July 28, 2014
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
Great book. Susan is a great writer. It was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed it.
4 people found this helpful

September 29, 2016
Format: Paperback
Uncaged Book Reviews:

A copy of this book was supplied to me for an honest review.

Wave a vampire romance under my nose, and I’m all in. Max is an ancient vampire, alive for a millennia. The only thing that can save an ancient from going insane from being alone, is their lifemate. Max, who spends a lot of his time in Iceland, pleads to the goddess Freya for help in finding his mate. Freya agrees to help him, but if he doesn’t succeed to win his mate’s heart, he will be encased in ice for eternity. But this is only half of the story.

Max is also the founder of the Arnhem Knights, who keep the city safe from evil. When Max meets Evelyn, he knows she is his lifemate, and his wife from when he was a human Viking, reincarnated. Evelyn knows about the vampire world because of her sister Laura and her husband David, are vampires and Arnhem Knights themselves.

This was a fast love story, even though Evelyn tries to keep him at arm’s length, she is drawn to him. Normally, I prefer a romance that brews slowly, and not books that have instant connections. But it works here, better than most. This book is the first in the series, but I may have benefitted from reading Laura’s story first, but I didn’t have any issues that hurt the story playing catch up. I think I would have liked to see a bit more descriptive paragraphs. I didn’t visualize as well, but there was some fun banter, nice action and a big heap of romance. 4 1/2 Stars


May 23, 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Great story with well developed characters. This is my first book by this author but it will not be my last.


June 25, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
This is a good book. I liked it a lot, but there was so much that didn't make sense to me that I figured there had to be another previous book that explained it all. I was correct, but it is not available on Amazon. It is the story of Laura and how she met David. There are actually four other books she has out that explain the Arnhem Knights. It would have been nice to be able to read them first to get the back story so this one made more sense.

Having said that, this was still good...and still worth reading. I am looking forward to reading Laura's story when it is released.



November 21, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Our hero, Maximillion Vander Meer, vampire with a soul. Our heroine, Evelyn Beaumont, reincarnated soul mate. There story of finally meeting back up was an adventure.

Have you ever met someone and it just clicked. That's how the author did this. Evelyn fought because of drama of passed married. There is adventure as Max's original Master wants him back.

And I loved the slight introduction of the Norse Gods. That was cool. Great story, fun to read. Couldn't put it down. I highly recommend this story. Be prepare to lose sleep.


December 18, 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
I enjoyed this book, There was some things that I saw coming but others I did not. I love reading how different authors portray vampires and I was not disappointed! Great work.


June 25, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
I loved this story and just so you know, I'm picky in the extreme when it comes to my vampire tales.
Author Susan Hanniford Crowley offers her readers a lusty hero with an abundance of old-world charm and honor, a saucy, independent heroine all set against a fascinating modern day setting. Vampire King is a wonderful combination of fun romance and page turning impossible to put down suspense evidenced by the fact I was still reading well after midnight . I can't wait to see what the author comes up with next!

February 9, 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Please tell me there is more out there. I fell in love with this book from front to back and will definitely be adding this to my reread list. The story line really called to me and was so well developed as were the characters. The story made me laugh, made me try and read faster to get to the next part, and ultimately made me feel like I wished I could have been there. Will be looking for more from this author in the future.

October 30, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Great story. I really enjoyed this one and hope she writes more about the Arnheim Knights. The main characters were well developed, with enough of a background provided without bogging the story down.

September 27, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
This was a great book would like to read more books like this wish that there was a book two

E.Clark
March 22, 2014
Very good book, exciting couldnt put this book down. I would have preferred a more detailed ending but other than that awesome book!!!!!

BetsTop Contributor: Cooking
July 22, 2013
So enjoyed this novel. Please tell me there will be more adventures for Max & Evelyn!! I look forward to many more books about their ancestors.